Slider responsive

2023 Competition
Sustainable, accessible and innovative sports and leisure facilities

Mission, competition and patrons

The International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) are committed to advocating for excellence in the visioning, design and operation of fully inclusive and universally accessible indoor and outdoor facilities.

Identifying and promoting trends for transforming communities and urban areas into places of active living as well as building sustainable facilities is at the core of this international competition.

The competition aims at increasing the accessibility of all sports and leisure facilities and architectural structures in order to offer all people opportunities to practise and view sport freely and without barriers.

As part of their commitment to excellence, the three organizations are inviting submissions for the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes for sustainable, accessible and innovative sports and leisure facilities.

The competition brings to public attention buildings and complexes that integrate

  • sensible sustainability and public value,
  • exemplary accessibility and universal design,
  • strong functional planning and innovation,
  • exceptional architectural design.

This competition is organized by the IOC, the IPC and the IAKS. The IAKS is responsible for its organization and staging.

Meet & greet the winners of the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes!

This year's award winners will be introduced to the international guests at the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes ceremony. The festive gala dinner takes place on the night of the 24th October 2023 starting with a champagne reception at 6.30 pm.