Slider responsive

Award 2021
Innovative and sustainable sports and leisure facilities

Meet & greet the winners of the 2021 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes!

This year's award winners will be introduced to the international guests at the 2021 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes ceremony. The festive gala dinner takes place on the night of the 26th Ocktober 2021 starting with a champagne reception at 6.30 pm.

Mission, competition and patrons

The International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the International Association for Sports and Leisure Facilities (IAKS) are committed to advocating for excellence in the visioning, design and operation of fully inclusive and universally accessible indoor and outdoor facilities.

Identifying and promoting trends for transforming communities and urban areas into places of active living as well as building sustainable facilities is at the core of this international competition.

As part of their commitment to excellence, the three organizations are inviting submissions for the IOC IPC IAKS 2021 Architecture Prizes for exemplary sports, leisure and recreational facilities.

The IOC IAKS Award for Exemplary Sports and Leisure Facilities brings to public attention exemplary buildings and complexes that integrate

  • sensible sustainability and innovation,
  • strong functional planning, and
  • exceptional architectural design.

This competition is organized by the IOC and the IAKS.

The IPC IAKS Distinction for Accessibility aims at increasing the accessibility of all sports and leisure facilities and architectural structures in order to offer all people opportunities to practise and view sport freely and without barriers.

This competition is organized by the IPC and the IAKS.

The IAKS is responsible for the organization and staging of the competition.