Slider responsive

Innovative design is key for 2023 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes

go to registration portal

From the small neighbourhood facility or urban active space to buildings for large-scale events: all are invited to submit their project for the world's most important international architecture prizes for sports, leisure and recreational facilities. Compete for excellence in visioning, design and operation, for inclusiveness and for accessibility. It is exceptional creativity that is commended by the IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes, organized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC), the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) and the IAKS.

The architecture prizes are about celebrating the architects and engineers involved in the design and delivery of the next generation of sports and leisure facilities.

The competition brings to public attention buildings and complexes that integrate

  • sensible sustainability and public value,
  • exemplary accessibility and universal design,
  • strong functional planning and innovation,
  • exceptional architectural design.

Since its launch in 1987, the IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes have already recognised some of the great leaders and innovators in sports facility design. Throughout the years, we received many outstanding nominations, including some of the world’s top venues. In 2023, our expert judges will be faced yet again with the hard task of deciding the winners.

Good luck with your entries! Registration open until 30 April 2023. To start work on yours, head over to more

2021 IAKS19 (238) edit_spectators admiring winning projects of architecture prizes

photo: IAKS Hieronymus Caspar

This is what the 2023 IOC IPC IAKS Architecture Prizes are about: in 90 seconds