Brilliant ceremony: IOC, IPC and IAKS award their international architecture prizes

Prize-winning projects in 14 countries

The jury for the 2019 IOC IAKS Award commended seven facilities with Gold, six with Silver and seven with Bronze. The IPC IAKS Distinction for accessible sports facilities goes to five participants. The prize-winning projects can be found in 14 countries worldwide.

This year, 98 projects had been competing from all continents, including ones in Malaysia, Mexico, Namibia, Taiwan and Qatar. Countries ranging from A for Australia to U for USA were all participating. This year’s winners span the range of major international sports event venues in Australia and USA, to a universally accessible toboggan slide structure featuring a lookout tower in Canada.

The prizes were handed over by

  • Michelle Lemaître
    International Olympic Committee, 
    Head of Sustainability, Corporate Development, Brand and Sustainability Department
  • Patrick Stolpmann
    International Paralympic Committee, 
    Head of Corporate Development and Technology
  • Dr Stefan Kannewischer
    IAKS President
2019 Winners IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes_group photo_Koelnmesse

photo: Koelnmesse

All winners of the 2019 IOC IPC IAKS architecture prizes are presented in the special edition of sb

Read online

Watch the project videos of the prize-winning facilities

Go to IAKS youtube channel

Special achievements

Two firms of architects are happy to be awarded prizes each for two projects. MJMA from Canada are the creative minds behind the UBC Aquatic Centre in Vancouver and the Great Plains Recreation Center in Calgary. The internationally known architects of Populous also succeeded with two projects in Canada and the United Kingdom.

Outstanding are the six award-winning projects from Canada, which include multifunctional sports and recreation centers as well as arenas and non-organized public spaces for sports and leisure. Adjacent to this year's theme of the IAKS Congress "Facilitating an active world" the projects are exemplary and inspiring for the future trends of urban planning and the design of active spaces and buildings.

The five IPC IAKS award-winning projects are in Australia, Canada, Denmark, Poland, and the United Kingdom. Accessibility is gaining ground in local and community-orientated sports centers. The IPC IAKS Distinction thus honours three projects which as a public institution promote an active lifestyle, inclusion and the wellbeing of the community.

2019 IOC IAKS Award Gold Winners

2019 Winner IOC IAKS Award GOLD_GAME Streetmekka Viborg_Koelnmesse

photo: Koelnmesse

  • Planica Nordic Center, Ratece Planica, Slovenia
    Architects: Studio Abiro, STVAR, Studio AKKA
  • Sportcampus Zuiderpark, Den Haag, Netherlands
    Architects: FaulknerBrowns Architects
  • Riviera Water Park, Brno, Czech Republic
    Architects: A77 Architekti, Centroproject Group
  • UBC Aquatic Centre, Vancouver, Canada
    Architects: MJMA, Acton Ostry Architects
  • Great Plains Recreation Facility, Calgary, Canada
    Architects: MJMA, MTa
  • Rogers Place, Edmonton, Canada
    Architects: HOK Architects
  • GAME Streetmekka Viborg, Viborg, Denmark
    Architects: EFFEKT Arkitekter

2019 IOC IAKS Award Silver Winners

  • Diösgyör Stadium, Miskolc, Hungary
    Architects: KÖZTI Architects & Engineers
  • World Archery Excellence Center, Lausanne, Switzerland
    Architects: Tardin & Pittet Architectes
  • P-Hus & Konditaget Lüders, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Architects: JAJA Architects
  • Videotron Center, Quebec, Canada
    Architects: ABCP architecture, GLCRM architects, POPULOUS architects
  • Oxygen Park, Doha, Qatar
    Architects: AECOM
  • Optus Stadium, Burswood, Australia
    Architects: HASSELL, COX Architecture, HKS
2019 Winner IOC IAKS Award Silver_Koelnmesse

photo: Koelnmesse

2019 IOC IAKS Award Bronze winners

2019 Winners IOC IAKS Award Bronze_Koelnmesse

photo: Koelnmesse

  • KI Innsbruck, Innsbruck, Austria
    Architects: Thomas Schnizer
  • Termalija Family Wellness, Podcetrtek, Slovenia
    Architects: ENOTA
  • Quai de la Moselle Basketball Arena, Calais, France
    Architects: Bureau faceB
  • Banc of California Stadium, Los Angeles, United States
    Architects: Gensler Sports
  • More Awesome Now, Vancouver, Canada
    Architects: HCMA Architecture & Design
  • Manitoboggan, Winnipeg, Canada
    Architects: Public City Architecture
  • Pulsen, Spøttrup, Denmark
    Architects: Elkiær + Ebbeskov arkitekter, LETH & GORI

2019 IPC IAKS Distinction

  • Optus Stadium, Burswood, Australia
    Architects: HASSELL, COX Architecture, HKS
  • Kärcher Hala Cracovia Sport Center for the Disabled, Cracow, Poland
    Architects: Bjuro Projektów Lewicki Latak
  • The Warner Stand at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, United Kingdom
    Architects: POPULOUS architects
  • Manitoboggan, Winnipeg, Canada
    Architects: Public City Architecture
  • Pulsen, Spøttrup, Denmark
    Architects: Elkiær + Ebbeskov arkitekter, LETH & GORI
2019 Winners IPC IAKS Distinction_Koelnmesse

photo: Koelnmesse

2019 IOC IPC IAKS Architecture and Design Award for Students and Young Professionals

2019 Winners IOC IPC IAKS Architecture and Design Award for Students

photo: Koelnmesse

Gold: Triamentum in Koblenz designed by Miriam Möller-Boldt, Germany

Silver: Experimental Teaching School in Oaxaca designed by Diego Eduardo Hernandez Santa Maria, Estefania Medina Duarte and Paola Andrea Rios Camacho, Mexico

Bronze: Connection Project in Montreal designed by Guillaume Ballart Terral, Switzerland